UPDATED: Where can you travel to from Switzerland - and when?

Author thumbnail
The Local - [email protected]
UPDATED: Where can you travel to from Switzerland - and when?
A Swiss plane takes off over Geneva. Photo: FABRICE COFFRINI / AFP

With coronavirus border restrictions gradually being loosened, Swiss residents are thinking again about their summer vacations. Where can we go - and when?


For the first time in the lifetimes of many people living in Switzerland, borders have been shuttered. 

While this has separated families and made work difficult for tens of thousands, it's also put people's summer holidays on ice. 

The Local Switzerland has assessed the current border policies of dozens of European countries to break down where Swiss residents can make a getaway this summer - and when. 

READ: Struggling Swiss airlines offer ‘return flight guarantee' 

The following map breaks down each country, with the list of countries - and the border opening dates - given below. 

Note: Border policies are subject to change and remain at the discretion of the responsible country.

Always check with the responsible country if you will be able to enter with the passport(s) you hold. 


The following information is correct at date of publication, but please get in touch with [email protected] if you have had a different experience. 

The information only applies to tourist travel - entry will be possible for other reasons and with appropriate documentation, like for family reunification or for work. 

Where to this summer?

Some countries have already opened their borders, while others will be doing so in the coming weeks. 

READ: These are the airlines restarting flights to and from Switzerland

Countries in orange have already opened their borders completely, while those in beige are open pursuant to some form of quarantine.* 

Those in light blue will open in May or June (dates included below), while those in dark blue have so far not indicated when they will allow entry from Swiss visitors. 

!function(){"use strict";window.addEventListener("message",(function(a){if(void 0!["datawrapper-height"])for(var e in["datawrapper-height"]){var t=document.getElementById("datawrapper-chart-"+e)||document.querySelector("iframe[src*='"+e+"']");t&&(["datawrapper-height"][e]+"px")}}))}();

Where can I travel - and when?

Border open

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, 

Border open with quarantine

Ireland, Romania, United Kingdom

Border open with negative coronavirus test

Belarus, Iceland

Border to open on set date

Finland (July 14), Norway (August 20)





Comments (1)

Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

Anonymous 2020/07/02 12:02
You missed Poland from the list

See Also