UPDATED: Which countries have been added to Switzerland’s quarantine list?

UPDATED: Which countries have been added to Switzerland’s quarantine list?
Switzerland added seven countries to its quarantine list, while removing three others. The changes came into place on Saturday, August 8th.

This story is now out of date, due to new countries being added to Switzerland's quarantine list. Click here for an updated article. 

Travellers returning to Switzerland from mainland Spain will be required to quarantine themselves, the health ministry said Wednesday, adding to a list of countries seen as having heightened risk of COVID-19 transmission.

The quarantine restrictions do not apply to people returning from Spain's Canary Islands.

As well as Spain, one of the countries hardest hit by the coronavirus pandemic with more than 28,000 deaths, the Swiss health ministry also added Singapore, Romania, the Bahamas, Equatorial Guinea, São Tomé and Príncipe and Sint Maarten. 

UPDATED: Who can enter Switzerland right now? 

Some 53 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, South Africa and the United States, are on the Swiss quarantine list.

People who have been in one of the countries deemed to have a high risk of COVID-19 infection “at any time during the 14 days before their entry into Switzerland most go directly to their accommodation” and stay put for 10 days, the ministry said.

Russia, the United Arab Emirates and Azerbaijan will be removed from the list as of Saturday.

Following similar measures taken by Britain, Germany on Friday added three northern Spanish regions to its list of high-risk destinations, meaning anyone arriving from those areas will have to produce a negative coronavirus test or go into quarantine for 14 days.

Madrid said last week that there was no second wave in Spain and the country was “safe” for tourists, despite the sharp rebound in the epidemic.

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.