Arrivals to Switzerland from Spanish islands and Belgium must quarantine from Thursday

Author thumbnail
The Local - [email protected]
Arrivals to Switzerland from Spanish islands and Belgium must quarantine from Thursday

Swiss health officials added Spain’s Balearic Islands - including popular tourist destinations Majorca and Ibiza - and Belgium, along with a handful of other countries, to its compulsory quarantine list on Tuesday.


Each of the countries added was included on the list due to new infections rising above the Swiss government’s threshold of 160 per 100,000 residents. 

While mainland Spain was included on August 5th, the Balearic Islands - including Majorca, Ibiza, Menorca and Formentera - along with the Canary Islands were not on the list. 

UPDATED: Everything you need to know about Switzerland's new quarantine requirement 

Now, all arrivals from mainland Spain as well as the Balearic Islands will need to complete at ten-day quarantine on arrival (arrivals from the Canary Islands will not be required to quarantine). 


Belgium is also added to the list, along with Albania, Andorra, Aruba, Belize, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Guam, Monaco and Namibia. 

UPDATED: Who can enter Switzerland right now? 

There are now 53 countries on Switzerland’s quarantine list, with Serbia, Singapore, Equatorial Guinea, Sao Tome and Principe and Saudi Arabia removed. 

The change will come into effect on Thursday, August 20th. 

An estimated 16,000 people are currently in quarantine in Switzerland for returning from high-risk countries. 

The requirement originally came into effect on July 6th. 

The full list:

The full list of 53 countries from which arrivals must quarantine is: Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Colombia, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eswatini, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Iraq, Israel, Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Namibia, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Romania, Sint Maarten, Suriname, South Africa, Spain (not Canary Islands), Turks and Caicos Islands and the United States.




Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also