REMINDER: These regions of Switzerland's neighbours are now on the quarantine list

The Local
The Local - [email protected] • 22 Feb, 2021 Updated Mon 22 Feb 2021 08:59 CEST
image alt text

Switzerland requires arrivals from some French, German, Austrian and Italian areas with high rate of Covid-19 infections to quarantine from Monday.

These states and areas are on the government’s list of high-risk countries or regions starting from February 22nd:


  • Région Centre-Val de Loire
  • Région Hauts-de-France
  • Région Île de France
  • Région Normandie
  • Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine
  • Région Occitanie (Languedoc-Roussillon-Midi-Pyrénées)
  • Région Pays de la Loire

These areas are in addition to Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, which has been on the list for several weeks.


The German states of Brandenburg and Sachsen-Anhalt have joined Thüringen on Switzerland’s high-risk list.


These three areas are now added to Regione Emilia Romagna and Regione Friuli Venezia Giulia:

  • Regione Marche
  • Regione Puglia
  • Regione Umbria

No new regions in Austria have been added to the list. Land Salzburg is the only one to date considered as high-risk.

READ MORE: Switzerland: Parts of France, Germany and Italy added to quarantine list 

What countries are on the quarantine list? 

Switzerland imposes the quarantine requirement only on certain areas or regions of bordering nations rather than on entire countries.

When countries do not share a border with Switzerland, then the entire country will be placed on the list. 

Albania, Andorra*, Bahrain, Brazil*, Estonia*, Ireland*, Israel*, Colombia, Latvia*, Lebanon*, Lithuania*, Malta*, Monaco*, Montenegro*, the Netherlands*, Panama*, Portugal*, San Marino*, Sweden*, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia*, Slovenia*, Spain*, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, South Africa*, Czech Republic*, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom* and the United States of America*.

This is the complete and official list of all the countries and regions currently subjected to the quarantine requirement.  

What are the rules? 

Travellers from all these regions and countries are required to self-quarantine for 10 days. This means you must announce your arrival to health authorities in your canton of residence within 48 hours. 

You must then stay in your home or another suitable accommodation for 10 days, without going out or receiving guests.

Anyone who doesn’t comply could be fined up to 10,000 francs.

Also note that a negative Covid test doesn’t exempt you from having to quarantine - but it can help you leave quarantine after seven rather than 10 days.

However, some travellers are exempted from the requirement — for example those who are coming to Switzerland for an important work reason that can’t be cancelled or rescheduled, individuals travelling for an important medical reason that can’t be postponed, and transit passengers who have spent less than 24 hours in a country or area with an increased risk of infection.

As the epidemiological situation around the world is constantly changing, the list is updated every 14 days.

READ MORE: What are Switzerland's new travel and quarantine rules? 





The Local 2021/02/22 08:59

Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also