Certain asylum seekers no longer allowed to leave Switzerland

The Swiss government put in place a range of law changes for asylum seekers on F permits, including a prohibition on leaving the country while their application is being considered.

Certain asylum seekers no longer allowed to leave Switzerland
A torn Swiss flag. Photo: FABRICE COFFRINI / AFP

Known as 'temporarily admitted persons' or 'F Permit holders', they are individuals who have been expelled from Switzerland but whose expulsion has been delayed or otherwise suspended. 

The rules now mirror those put in place for asylum seekers or refugees. 

Temporarily admitted persons will only be allowed to leave the country in ‘exceptional circumstances’ pursuant to the new rules. 

The travel ban extends to the person’s home country as well as to other countries. 

While a comprehensive guide of what amounted to ‘exceptional circumstances’ was not given, one example provided was to obtain important paperwork. 

Those who do travel abroad may be punished via a fine or a lapse of their admission status. 

Swiss news outlet 20 Minutes reports that if a person successfully applies again after status has lapsed, they will not be granted a residence permit for a minimum of ten years. 

While temporary residents will be restricted from leaving Switzerland under normal circumstances, there were additional freedoms provided for asylum claimants under the new rules. 

Temporary residents will now no longer be restricted from moving from one canton to another if they have a job in another canton. 

What are temporary residents or temporarily admitted persons? 

Temporarily admitted persons are those who hold an F Permit which allows them to live in Switzerland. 

The definition according to the Swiss government is as follows: 

Temporarily admitted persons are persons who have been expelled from Switzerland, but the enforcement of the expulsion has proven to be inadmissible (violation of international law), unreasonable (specific risk to the foreigner) or impossible (enforcement reasons). 

Temporary admission is therefore a substitute measure. Temporary admission can be ordered for 12 months and extended by the canton of residence for 12 months at a time. The cantonal authorities can grant temporarily admitted persons a permit to work regardless of their work or economic situation. 


Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.
For members


REVEALED: EU plans digital-only Schengen visa application process

Soon those non-EU nationals requested to have a Schengen visa to travel to European countries will no longer need to go to a consulate to submit the application and get a passport sticker, but will be able to apply online. 

REVEALED: EU plans digital-only Schengen visa application process

The European Commission has proposed to make the Schengen visa process completely digital.

The special visa, which allows to stay for tourism or business (but not work) in 26 European countries for up to 90 days in any 6-month period. 

Nationals of third countries such as South Africa, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka need the Schengen Visa to visit Europe, but they are not needed for other non-EU nationals such as Britons or Americans. You can see the full list of countries who need a Schengen visa here.

The proposal will have to be approved by the European Parliament and Council, but is in line with an agreed strategy that EU governments are keen to accelerate in the aftermath of the pandemic. 

Once agreed, the system will be used by the countries that are part of the border-free Schengen area. These include EU countries, excluding Ireland (which opted out), and Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia and Cyprus (which do not issue Schengen visas). Iceland, Norway, Lichtenstein and Switzerland, which are not EU members but have signed the Schengen Convention, will be part of the new system too.

Paper-based processes required applicants to travel to consulates to submit the application and collect their passports with the visa, a procedure that “proved problematic during the COVID-19 pandemic,” the Commission said.

Some EU countries have already started to switch to digital systems but not all accept online payments for the visa fees. 

When the new system will be in place, the Commission says, applicants will be able to check on the EU Visa Application platform whether they need a visa. If so, they will create an account, fill out the application form, upload the documents and pay. 

The platform will automatically determine which Schengen country will be responsible for the application and applicants will be able to check their status and receive notifications. Travellers will then be able to access the visa online, and if needed extend it too.

“Half of those coming to the EU with a Schengen visa consider the visa application burdensome, one-third have to travel long distance to ask for a visa. It is high time that the EU provides a quick, safe and web-based EU visa application platform for the citizens of the 102 third countries that require short term visa to travel to the EU,” said Commissioner for Home Affairs Ylva Johansson.

“With some member states already switching to digital, it is vital the Schengen area now moves forward as one,” said Commission Vice-President for Promoting our European Way of Life, Margaritis Schinas.

However, first-time applicants, people with biometric data that are no longer valid or with a new travel document, will still have to go to a consulate to apply.

Family members of citizens from the EU and the European Economic Area, as well as people who need assistance, will also be able to continue to apply on paper. 

The EU Visa Application platform will be used from third countries whose nationals must be in possession of a visa to enter the EU and is different from the ETIAS (European Travel Information Authorisation), which is currently under development.

The ETIAS will be used by non-EU nationals who are exempt from visas but who will need to apply for a travel authorisation prior to their trip. This will cost 7 euros and will be free for people below the age of 18 and above 70. 

Based on the discussion between the European Parliament and Council, the Commission could start developing the platform in 2024 and make it operational in 2026. EU countries will then have five years to phase out national portals and switch to the common online system.