UPDATED: Which countries are currently on Switzerland's quarantine list?

Author thumbnail
The Local - [email protected]
UPDATED: Which countries are currently on Switzerland's quarantine list?
A empty terminal at Geneva Airport. Photo: FABRICE COFFRINI / AFP

Several countries including Ireland, Denmark, the Netherlands and the Czech Republic have been added to Switzerland's quarantine list.


NOTE: Switzerland updated its high-risk country list from February 1st onwards. Please click here for updated information. 

The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) updated its mandatory quarantine list on January 12th, 2021. 

Ireland was added to the list with immediate effect, while the Czech Republic, Denmark, the Netherlands and Panama will go on Switzerland's list from Friday, January 15th onwards. 

Ireland's addition to the quarantine list was made with immediate effect due to spiralling infection rates on the Emerald Isle. 

In addition, the Italian region of Friuli Venezia Giulia has been removed, along with Belize. The removal will take effect on January 15th. 

Which countries are on the list now?

Switzerland has a different rule for its neighbours than for countries it does not share a land border with. 

Any country sharing a land border with Switzerland will see regions placed on the list rather than the nation as a whole. 

Therefore, the German state of Sachsen is on the list, along with the Italian region of Veneto. 

Note that the countries in bold will be added to the list on January 15th, while the others are on the list as at January 12th. 

These are: Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Georgia, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Panama, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, South Africa, United Kingdom and United States of America.

The official updated list can be seen here in English. 

How has the list changed over time? 

On December 21st, the United Kingdom and South Africa were added to the list. 

Importantly, the quarantine requirement was backdated to December 14th. 

READ MORE: Switzerland suspends flights with UK over new Covid strain

This is intended in particular to stop travel from these countries for tourism purposes due to a newly detected strain of the virus. 

“All persons who have entered Switzerland from these two countries since December 14th must go into quarantine for 10 days", the Federal Council said in a statement

As of December 19th, the Austrian states of Carinthia, Styria and Upper Austria were removed from the list. 


Those heading to Austria will however be required to quarantine from December 19th. 

UPDATED: What you need to know about Austria's quarantine rules 

On December 19th, French Polynesia, Hungary, Italy’s Emilia Romagna region, Jordan, North Macedonia, Poland and Portugal will be removed from the list. 

What are Switzerland's quarantine rules? 

Anyone required to quarantine must do so for a ten-day period. 

When arriving in Switzerland, you are required to contact the cantonal health authorities within two days. 

Even if you have evidence of a negative test, you will still be required to quarantine for ten days. 

More information is available in English here



Comments (1)

Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

Anonymous 2021/01/12 17:30
For me, ‘The Local’ provides both factual and useful information I can count on! Thank you.

See Also