Switzerland adds several new countries to quarantine list

Author thumbnail
The Local - [email protected]
Switzerland adds several new countries to quarantine list
Photo: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

Switzerland has updated its mandatory quarantine list effective May 17th, adding several countries while removing others - including some areas of Italy and Austria.


Several countries have been added to Switzerland's mandatory quarantine list. 

This includes Costa Rica, Georgia, Iran, Columbia, Latvia, Moldavia and Mongolia. 

The Basilicata region of Italy has also been added to the list. 


Several areas are also now off the list, having been removed on May 6th. 

The countries of Armenia, Bosnia/Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Greece, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, North Macedonia, San Marino, the Czech Republic and the Ukraine have been removed from the list.

The regions of Emilia Romagna, Friuli and Tuscany in Italy along with Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria and Vienna in Austria have also been removed. 

Switzerland frequently adds and subtracts countries from the list on the basis of infection rates. 

While in some cases, a new addition will be announced with immediate effect, in other cases countries are added to the list several days after the announcement. 

In countries which share a border with Switzerland, regions rather than the entire country are added. 

Click the following link for the full list that applies now. 

UPDATE: Which countries are currently on Switzerland’s quarantine list?

Arrivals from the list will be required to quarantine when they get to Switzerland. More information on the quarantine rules – including on how to get out of quarantine early – is available here. 


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also