Swiss National Day For Members

Where are fireworks banned on Swiss National Day and where are they permitted?

The Local (
The Local ([email protected]) • 31 Jul, 2022 Updated Sun 31 Jul 2022 12:20 CEST
image alt text
Swiss National Day this Monday will look a little different because of fireworks bans in many locations. Photo by Yiran Yang on Unsplash

Swiss National Day this Monday will look a little different because of fireworks bans in many locations, but traditional displays will go ahead in some areas.

Due to high temperatures and persisting drought, a number of cantons and municipalities have banned the traditional fireworks on their territory, extending the ban to open fires as well.

Certain Zurich municipalities have prohibited this practice as well, while further cantons earlier indicated they may also prohibit fireworks should they be unsafe. 

As such, private fireworks displays have been ruled out in many parts of the country and public celebrations are also affected.


Of Switzerland’s 26 cantons, some have issued total bans on open-air fires, some have issued bans covering parts of the canton, some are only permitting fires at Feuerstelle (campfire-style open-air fire pits), and some have only banned fires in forest areas.

Further below, you can see a list of locations where public fireworks displays are expected to go ahead as things stand.

Total bans

Geneva, Vaud, Freiburg, Valais, Ticino

Ban in parts of canton


Open fires restricted to Feuerstelle

Luzern, Zug, Schwyz, Nidwalden, Obwalden

Ban in forest areas

Neuchâtel, Jura, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Solothurn, Aargau, Zurich, Thurgau, St. Gallen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Glarus, Uri, Schaffhausen

Swiss residents whose canton or commune has introduced a ban have been notified with a flyer deposited in their mailbox.

Fines for non-compliance with this regulation range between 100 and 20,000 francs, depending on the severity of the violation and the canton or municipality where the infraction takes place.

At the current time, the following locations are still planning to go ahead with public fireworks displays, according to media Watson.

Neuhausen am Rheinfall, Schaffhausen; Lungern, Obwalden; Basel, Basel-Stadt; Murten, Freiburg; Stäfa, Zurich; Brunnen, Schwyz; Samnaun, Graubünden.



The Local ([email protected]) 2022/07/31 12:20

Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also